3D measurement and imaging solutions provider FARO has acquired Opto-Tech and its subsidiary Open Technologies.


Image: Faro acquires Opto-Tech. Photo: Courtesy of rawpixel/Unsplash

Situated in Brescia, Italy, Open Technologies provides portfolio of compact, 3D structured light scanning solutions that specifically allow dentists, dental technicians and orthopedics to use the 3D world for the creation of crowns, implants and prosthesis.

Open Technologies also offers an integrated suite of industrial products that are claimed to drastically reduce time and effort across several product design and inspection applications that include reverse engineering, heritage preservation, product visualization and dimensional measurement.

These solutions are claimed to address various market segments including automotive, aerospace, computer graphics, furniture, fashion design and public safety.

Open Technologies was established in 2001 by engineers Matteo Carocci and Alessandro Patrioli. The company was formed to bring new revolution in future manufacturing stages.

The company provides services across orthopaedic, footwear, prototyping and mechanics. In 2008, Open Technologies started a new dental division, selling dental scanners.

FARO president and CEO Simon Raab said: “Open Technologies proven core competency in compact, 3D structured light scanning solutions aligns perfectly with our strategic direction.

“We continue to take a leadership position in the integration of visionary 3D technology as a core solution requirement across the breadth of industries where design or reconstruction is considered critical.”

FARO develops computer-aided measurement and imaging devices and software. The company is headquartered in Florida and has research and development, manufacturing and service operations in Pennsylvania.

The company is present across several international markets including the US, Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Germany, the United Kingdom, France, Spain, Italy, Poland, Turkey, the Netherlands, Switzerland, India, China, Malaysia, Thailand, South Korea, Japan, and Australia.